14th Annual General Meeting

Aasaman Nepal successfully held its 14th Annual General Meeting on 3rd and 4th January, 2016 in Lalgadh Leprosy Hospital, Lalgadh Dhanusha. The program had two main objectives:

  1. Programme review and proposed strategic plan for 2016
  2. Declaration and acceptance of Aasaman’s policy by board members

The program was chaired by the Chairperson of Aasaman Nepal Mr. Surendra Bahadur Karki. Participants of the program included District Education Officer of Dhanusha, Women Development Officer. Mr. Nawal Kishor Yadav, Executive Director of Aasaman Nepal emphasized that the major priority of Aasaman Nepal in 2016 would be to work in 8 districts of Terai region, earthquake affected area and Karnali Zone. Besides four main working areas the main focus of Aasaman Nepal in this year would be to work in Child Nutrition, Women’s Health, Disaster and HIV AIDS. Similarly, Aasaman would also emphasize on the use of accountability tools such as Community Score Card, Social Audit, and Toll Free Number. Similarly, Dr. Ghanshyam Bhatta, Technical Advisor of Aasaman Nepal highlighted on the concept of innovative grant and the relationship between concept, human relation and skill for the betterment of any organization.

The programme review saw the following project’s progress review presentations:

  • Teaching to Learn by Mr. Nirp Sunar
  • Back to Basics by Mr. Laxman Thapa
  • Green Jankpur, Clean Jankpur by Mr. Umesh Mandal
  • Youth Employment Project and Women’s Empowerment by Mr. Ashok Chaudhary
  • Sabal Shikshya Dia by Ms. Asmita Sharma
  • Sisters for Sisters’ Education by Mr. Munilal Baitha
  • Poverty Alleviation Program, Dhanusha by Mr. Dipak Adhikari
  • Poverty Alleviation Program, Sarlahi by Mr. Arvind Yadav

The second day of AGM program was specially focused on declaration and acceptance of the organization’s policy as well as division of board members for leading the four major program areas in their initiation:

Education- Mr. Rajkumar Biswokarma and Mr. Mahadev Yadav

Child Protection- Mr. Arun Kumar Yadav

Health- Mrs. Saraswati Gautam and Mrs. Ram Dulari Ram

Natural Resource Management and Livelihood- Mr. Mahendra Sada, Mrs. Ram Shila Thakur and Mrs. Neelam Yadav

1AGM-Aasaman 2AGM- Aasaman Nepal